2017-18 Conference & Organizational Moves

  • NCAA Division II and III and NAIA are in full regional qualification models. The NAIA qualification model is "conference based," but following a regional qualifying system with wild cards.
  • Boise State University's wrestling program was eliminated at the end of the 2017 season.
  • Northern Iowa moved from the Mid-American Conference as an affiliate to an affiliate of the Big 12.
  • Fresno State joined the Big 12 Conference as an affiliate member.

Adds (25)

Programs that will start wrestling for the 2017-18 school year.

  • Averett (Division III)
  • Bluefield (NAIA)
  • Central Christian (NAIA)
  • Central Christian (WCWA)
  • Cleary* (NAIA)
  • Cloud County CC (NJCAA)
  • Cowley CC (NJCAA)
  • Fresno State (Division I)
  • Joliet JC (NJCAA)
  • Judson* (NAIA)
  • Lackawanna (NJCAA)
  • Moorpark (CCC)
  • Ohio Wesleyan (Division III)
  • Oklahoma Wesleyan (NAIA)
  • Penn State-Behrend (Division III)
  • Providence (Mont.) (Women)
  • Queens University of Charlotte (Division II)
  • Saint Mary (Kan.) (NAIA)
  • Saint Mary (Kan.) (Women)
  • St. Clair County CC (NJCAA)
  • Umpqua CC (NJCAA)
  • Umpqua CC (WCWA)
  • Westminster (Division III)
  • Westminster (WCWA)
  • Wilmington (Division III)

*- not competing in the post-season for 2017-18.

Drops (4)

  • Boise State (Division I)
  • Shorter (Division II)
  • Wentworth Military Academy (NJCAA)**
  • Wentworth Military Academy (WCWA)**

**- school closed.