The National Wrestling Media Association started a recognition and service award to media professionals for their work in the effort to educate and enhance the sport of wrestling through media.

Following the passing of former NWMA President Jay Hammond, the award was re-named in his honor.

2021-22 - John Hoke, Amateur Wrestling News & Andy Hamilton, FloSports
2020-21 - Not Presented
2019-20 - Dan McCool (p), Des Moines Register & Justin Tritz, Trackwrestling
2018-19 - Not Presented
2017-18 - John Sachs,
2016-17 - John Harmon, EIWA/Lehigh University
2015-16 - Jason Bryant, Mat Talk Online & Martin Floreani, FloSports
2014-15 - Mike Finn, W.I.N. Magazine & Pat Tocci, NWCA
2013-14 - T.R. Foley, InterMat/CPOW & Jamie Moffatt
2012-13 - Laurie Cannon, NCAA & Gary Abbott, USA Wrestling
2011-12 - Christian Holiday, Global Media Marketing & Shawn Van Leeuwen, Takedown Wrestling Media
2010-11 - Craig Sesker for Bobby Douglas: Life and Legacy of an American Wrestling Legend.

p- posthumously awarded